On getting my Mondays back

Having a permanent long weekend would probably one of the things I love about studying in UP. If I dreaded Mondays before, I didn’t have to dread it much in college because Monday will forever be a free day—except during sophomore year. On my second year in UP, I was required to take my CWTS class.

CWTS is a once a week, 3-unit class. For the first semester, we have to sit in the auditorium for 3 straight hours, from 2 PM until 5. Even though I hated losing my Mondays to a class, I still went to class. Other than of course being required to attend class (and not wanting to write an additional blog post to make up for every absence), it wasn’t a bad experience. Every week we listen to a new set of guest speakers who would lecture us on a wide range of topics. It was like attending a different class each week.

And for the second semester, it was different. We may not have to sit in the auditorium for 3 hours every Monday, but we have to do some hands-on work. This work involves helping different NGOs, which were assigned to us at the beginning of the semester.

My groupmates and I were assigned to SAMASA Alumni Association, a former political party in UP. What we had to do was to go through every issue of the Philippine Collegian and SINAG from 1979-1998 to look for all the articles and photographs related to SAMASA. As our culminating activity, we organized a group interview with members of SAMASA AA. Our task is not exactly easy, but because we enjoyed reading through past issues of Kule and listening to the stories during the interview, we easily accomplished everything.

Initially, I thought every CWTS class would involve immersing ourselves in underprivileged communities (I would have loved it too) but I experienced an entirely different thing. I was exposed to issues I have never been exposed to before, and I was in educated in different subject matters that no other class could have taught me.

I have to admit I’m happy getting my Mondays back, but for the record, I didn’t have to dread Mondays during sophomore year, after all.

5 thoughts on “On getting my Mondays back

  1. I agree! One of the reasons I chose UP was that I could get an extra free day. I looked forward to Mondays – having a day to finish my school work, and to rest. As much as I don’t get to do those things anymore because of NSTP, I still looked forward to Mondays!

  2. I was able to listen to your report last week and I must say that you guys did commendable work for your NGO. From what I learned, you guys really spent a lot of hours researching in the library and doing tasks for your internship. And I was interested in your group’s NGO since I was able to read from the Philippine Collegian tht STAND-UP used to be part of SAMASA so I thought it was interesting how SAMASA evolved throughout the years and it’s quite commendable that it has withstood the test of time.

  3. The title is interesting 😉 I must admit, I too have learned a lot. Surely, those Mondays were never wasted.

Leave a Reply

