How to make stress your friend

Now that we’re about to face the final week of classes, we’re all really stressed over exams, papers and numerous last minute requirements given by professors. Though stress could be a bit overwhelming at times, the right mindset could actually change things.

I came across this TED talk about a week ago, and I’m still really amazed with what I heard. Stress could not only help us achieve more things, but it could actually help us become better people. Personally, I like asking people how there are whenever I am stressed. I take comfort in the knowledge that I’m not alone, and sometimes even in knowledge that some people are okay because then I realize that I, too, could be okay.

The talk ends with Kelly Mcgonigal saying that “chasing meaning is better for your health than trying to avoid discomfort.” She tells us to go after what it is that gives meaning and to trust ourselves to handle the stress that comes after. This, I think is that best advice to give to anyone trying to make decisions about the future.

5 thoughts on “How to make stress your friend

  1. They do say “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” and I think stress is a prime example of that. This is really one hell of a motivation and I really like the emphasis on the rewards of conquering your stress.

  2. This was very much needed. I do believe that everyone should trust themselves in handling stress, but personally, it’s the stress itself I’m worried about, not the handling.

  3. This was a great post! I remember from high school, one of our teachers told us that stress is a blessing because it pushes us to do better and it reminds us of the fact that we are receiving the best education we could get, while most kids and teenagers in the country do not have enough money to go to school. Stress is a gift. We got this!

Leave a Reply

