Here’s to new learnings!!

Sometimes, what you learn outside the four walls of your classroom is far more valuable than what you learn inside of it. When that happens, experiences are made.

It’s been a crazy semester filled with new experiences for me. The things that were of little significance to me when the semester started, is now looked at with a new light and deeper appreciation. One of the causes of this new found appreciation was my eye-opening experience with The Nameless.

I never really cared much for activism, and politics in general. Politics was something I tried to stay away from. But how could I ever escape it when it’s part of everyday life, whether I acknowledge it or not. I never expected to be part of an NGO that was centered on activism. But then again, I wasn’t really sure of what I was getting myself into. With time and patience, I’ve come to realize that being temporarily part of the Nameless helped me appreciate not just the unsung heroes of our countries past, but a reverence for what the Filipinos had gone through and is continuing to go through. At the end of the day, we all struggle. Individually, we have our struggles. But rarely do we consider and think about our struggles collectively as a Filipino people. Being part of this NGO has made me feel like light was shed in a dark room; I had found valuable tokens of gratitude that I thought weren’t there, all because I wasn’t looking.

So to my co-group mates and the Nameless facilitators, thank you so much for this semester. 

2 thoughts on “Here’s to new learnings!!

  1. Wow that introduction really caught my attention. “Sometimes, what you learn outside the four walls of your classroom is far more valuable than what you learn inside of it. When that happens, experiences are made.” I really believe there’s more to life than grades. I believe that experiences are indeed the best teachers. We really do have more to learn, and lets be open to new experiences that iwll make us grow and become stronger persons!

  2. Being part of the nameless was really eye-openening, there is a great possibility that all of us who were assigned to the nameless were able to experience new things.

    P.S. This was a good read 😀

Leave a Reply

