Letting It Go

So, last Friday I got to attend the forum organized by UPSE and Ayala about the Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program. I have to say that it was a very nice experience to see so many talented and experienced individuals in the field of Economics in one room. It’s times like those that I become inspired to continue studying in Econ. Now, to go back to our topic in CWTS and to recap, our group was charged with the creation of a matrix about the various Bilateral Investment Treaties that the Philippines had signed. As of now, we were able to compile and review about 35 of them and I learned a lot about Investment Treaties just by reading them. And I hope that when we present our report this coming Monday, you too would be able to learn what a BIT is and how it works. I also hope that you would be able to enjoy what we have in store for you, so just you wait!

 

Now that this sem is about to end, I feel kind of sad yet relieved and happy at the same time. I’m kind of sad because I won’t be able to go back to our NGO but happy because our job is finally finished and I think we did it adequately. One day, I’ll be able to look back at this experience and say to myself, “I did that. I was part of an NGO.” Through this course, I was able to help society even in the littlest of ways. I also learned a lot, not only about Economic-related stuff but also things that I learned from the various experiences that I encountered here in CWTS Econ. So for that, I am very thankful. So, I guess this is the very last time I’ll be posting in this blog, so see you around..

Astin Padlan 

2012-35579

3 thoughts on “Letting It Go

  1. TRUE! I’m so happy we were able to finish our task with our NGO. I just hope that our small collective action will make an impact in our country, especially now that we know most of the treaties are expired and could be repealed or reformed.

  2. While CWTS wasn’t a walk in the park for a number of us, I’d say that, nonetheless, we all got something out of it. From simple exposure outside the campus, experience working with different organization, to getting a feel of the different issues out there; CWTS was a good opportunity to get out of one’s comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

