I guess it was good while it lasted

Earlier this sem I wrote a blog post entitled “Well there go my Monday mornings…and I’m cool with that“. I talked about my experience in the NGO.

Needless to say, I really did enjoy the experience. Sure, it was a bit of a hassle, but overall, I think it was beneficial to me. The experience made me realize that there’s a whole lot more to the Akbayan partylist than just the name.

Before this entire experience, I just saw Akbayan as just another partylist. I thought that it was just a group of people running for office. Heck, I didn’t even know what Akbayan meant until I started working for it.

From the inside, I began to see what “Akbayan” truly meant. In tagalog, it means “putting one’s arm over the shoulders of another”, usually a gesture of friendship or of comforting another. In essence, this is what the party stood for.

My experience involved mostly helping sort out cases and researching about government programs. All of these involves the party helping people in need. The party offered legal help to local government officials and helped farmers gain access to farming aid. It was all about service and aid for those in need.

Now, I no longer see Akbayan as just a partylist. I don’t just see it as a group of government people. I now see it as an organization dedicated to serving and helping others while breaking the norms of traditional politics.

And I’m glad to have been a part of it.

-Miguel “Good while it lasted” Silva, 2012-58291

4 thoughts on “I guess it was good while it lasted

  1. It’s good to see/ take things into perspective, and I am happy to have found out/ learn about the Akbayan upon your wonderful insight.

    Truly, as hearing it for the first time, id have to agree that the first thing came into mind was the friendly gesture, but it’s good to see that there is a group who takes this simple gesture in a whole different level. 🙂

  2. The organization itself might be or have proven their social relevance, but I have always been under the impression that the candidates who run under these parties are just using them to bring themselves closer to their wants; the parties are just the vessels these politicians ride on their way to the top, unlike here in UP where your party might very well be the sole reason for you landsliding your opponent(s). Just my two cents.

  3. I think that even though our NGO’s are different from each other, if there’s one thing that we will probably take away from this experience is that service towards the nation can be difficult, but definitely worth it. That’s what I felt at least with my NGO and how we discussed many climate change-related topics. It feels good to do good.

  4. Congratulations on your newfound perspective! I’ve undergone a similar change working with the Freedom from Debt Coalition. Prior to the experience I was quick to dismiss similar NGOs as “puro reklamador”, whereas I now appreciate the work of such organizations who recognize inequities and injustices committed in Philippine society and demand that steps be taken towards correcting them.

Leave a Reply

