The ATM experience

If there’s one sector in the government I know little to nothing about, it would probably be the mining sector. Mining has always sounded so foreign to me growing up in the city. However, it all changed when me and my group encountered Alyansa Tigil Mina.

I was honestly initially apprehensive about going to ATM because for one, their office is outside the campus and we have to travel far to get there. It’s an additional burden for me since I only commute, and I commute all the way from the south. Second, ATM sounded too liberal for me. I didn’t want to be forced into doing something I wasn’t comfortable about or be made to believe in something I wasn’t completely sure of. Thankfully, ATM wasn’t any of those. I immediately learned so many things even just on our first day. They conditioned us that they won’t turn us into anti-mining activists but into socially aware citizens- something I was very happy about. They gave us booklets about their organization and the current situation in the mining industry. They briefly informed us their views on various issues regarding mining and how they addressed/planning to address it.

Alyansa Tigil Mina also catered to our needs in the sense that they understood the fact that we are students with demanding schedules and requirements. They consulted us in every activity they would assign us and would constantly seek our opinion about it. They made it clear that our time with them shouldn’t be a burden, but an amazing learning experience. Our satisfaction is their utmost concern. Next week, we will be going to Zambales to fulfill our major requirement for the course: a field work. As for our group, we were said to be interviewing a group of farmers in the area, and though quite nervous, we are still excited for what’s in store for us.

Beatrice Ramona S. Toledo
2012-31059

5 thoughts on “The ATM experience

  1. I am glad that our NGO’s require us to fulfill a meaningful workload, but they also consider our other commitments such as academics. Furthermore, I am quite intrigued that ATM is requiring you to do a field work in Zambales…sounds fun and interesting. I wish we had that in Tambuyog.

  2. I also don’t know much about the mining situation in the Philippines but its interesting to hear that there are groups such as ATM who are still actively fighting for what they believe in with regards to the present issues in the mining industry! Also, I think it was nice of them to consult with your group before having you do anything.

  3. The organization you’re under in seems very nice. I am excited to see what you will learn and experience in your fieldwork to Zambales.

  4. It’s nice to know that your expectations didn’t meet reality, and I mean that in the best way possible. I, for one, do not know anything about the mining sector–aside from the fact that it is a very dangerous industry to be in. It’s great to hear that your NGO also does not expect you to turn into full-on activists but are satisfied with the fact that you are now more aware of the mining situation in the Philippines! You must be pretty excited about your Zambales trip! I hope you enjoy and learn a ton more things during your field work!

  5. I have taken a course on trade and development and mining was one of the most controversial topics we discussed in class. I have to say that until now, I do not know much about it to be able to have a say on the issues but it would be really nice to know about these issues through ATM. It’s also very nice to hear that they were very considerate of your schedules and working with them sounds really fun!

Leave a Reply

