Yolanda Run

Before we started reporting to the National Anti-poverty commission, they invited us to participate in their activity called Yolanda Run. The proceeds of the said event will go to the victims of typhoon Yolanda. At first I was hesitant because I am not a fan of active sports, also I had a terrible body ache the last time I joined one. But then I realized that it wouldn’t be nice if I missed the first activity, so I decided to join. Come the day of the event, I was somehow excited until I found out that my group mates would not be able to come. Since I was on my way to the venue, which is the Quezon City Circle, I had no choice but to continue. So I arrived at the event and got myself registered. The run had started minutes ago and some were already finished. While jogging, I noticed that there were participants from all age groups. I run and walked alternately, to keep myself from getting tired. After running around the circle thrice, I picked up my things and headed home. And then I realized that running wasn’t so bad especially since I got to help the victims of typhoon Yolanda.

 Lizaso, Shaun Erycka T.

2012-35913

4 thoughts on “Yolanda Run

  1. Hello! I also participated the Yolanda Run and it was fun, though tiring. But I didn’t really run, I walked instead. And at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter whether you ran or you walked. What matters is the feeling of fulfillment that we have helped the victims of Yolanda. 🙂

  2. I commend you for pushing through the walk despite your groupmates not being able to come. People our age typically come to these events because of their peers and opt not to push through when they find themselves without company. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  3. What i like about runs for a cause is that at the end of the day, you know that you helped not only yourself, but a big community. It’s also nice to witness how people are so eager to help in their own simple ways. 🙂

Leave a Reply

