Simple yet Meaningful

This semester, our group was assigned to the NGO, Philippine Rural Reconstruction Movement (PRRM), to serve as interns for the second part of our Nstp-cwts class. Our group chose to work on the project theme, “Climate Change”.

I initially thought that we will be doing a lot of seminars, presentations and talking in front of groups of people about the cause and effect of climate change to our environment and what we can do to help change it for the better. But then, the task that was given to us was simple – to garden. To be more precise,we were asked to layout,organize,and renovate their rooftop garden that is located at the top of the building. That was all we had to do for the whole semester and I assumed that it will be a piece of cake. Well, how naive I was for thinking that way. Gardening is really a tough job to do. Based from what we did so far, I realized that a person has to have enough determination (nakakangawit yumuko nang matagal, hindi tumubo yung ibang tinanim namin 😦 , etc. ) and endurance (harsh weather, many insects – ex. a lot of red soldier ants!, etc.) to reach his goals when gardening and/or taking care of plants. Thus, since I already know what it feels like and how hard it is ,I gained even more respect to the people who had to do this for a living (farmers). If gardening was already hard enough, what more when one has to farm ? They really have to sacrifice their time,sweat and blood (literally, since they have to handle sharp tools and accidents do happen) to earn a living, but some people don’t even appreciate their hard work. Saying this, I’m embarrassed by myself as well since I admit that I still leave vegetables on my plate when I don’t like their taste. From now on, whenever I want to leave food again, I’ll think of the people who made them first and I’ll remind myself that if I leave them to waste, I’ll be throwing away these people’s sweat and blood when they worked day and night to plant,raise, and harvest these. Like how chain reactions work, when I leave them to waste, this will then contribute to more garbage and we all know that the excessive amount of trash has been one of the main causes of pollution in the world for a very long time. If more pollution is made, our climate and environment will worsen and these events will cause even more damage and sickness to other people (negative externality). In short, the more I throw away food, the more I’m contributing to make other people sick. D:

I know that these lessons are really simple and that they have been taught to us ever since we were kids, but how many people actually understand the meaning behind them and their importance? They are there for a reason and rather than people just saying that they understand these lessons, I hope that they really start to show that they care through their actions.

*Sorry for any grammatical errors and for the informality of my post, I just wanted to make it as reader – friendly as possible. 🙂

– Henny Liao

2012-00145

5 thoughts on “Simple yet Meaningful

  1. We all learn best by experiencing. I think what you learned from your task in your NGO is beyond than that of what you could have learned in boring seminars and symposiums. It’s one thing to know that farmers and gardeners are having it hard, but it’s another to go through (in a sense) what they go through everyday. Sana maganda yung turn out ng garden niyo! 🙂

  2. As a fellow UP student, I understand your initial disappointment at being tasked to “just garden”. This is because I too – along with many of our peers, I am certain – have only ever wanted to make a difference in the world. And by that I mean a sizable and tangible difference that would go a long way in solving global problems like environmental degradation, poverty, etc. Some may even call it of those who bear the “Tatak UP”.

    It is because it is very to overlook how seemingly mundane and insignificant actions (gardening comes to mind) that are persistently done by a dedicated number of people could very well lead up to great change. I’m glad that this blog entry sought to remind its readers (including me) of that.

  3. I too would have the same feelings as you had when you knew that you will do gardening for your NGO. But reading your post, I also realized that it’s really “not just gardening” and it’s about the hardwork and significant efforts that people do to save our environment.

  4. Since we both work for PRRM, I’ve seen the roof garden that you guys have been working on. I can tell that it’s really hard work since the plants haven’t been tended to in a very long time and I salute your hard-work in maintaining the roof garden. I like the idea of having roof gardens in our offices and homes because it promotes an accessible way to care for the environment. I can’t wait to see the work you guys will do to PRRM’s roof garden in the next two months. 🙂

Leave a Reply

