When You Feel Like Giving Up

Just remember that there are some people in this world who would kill to be where you are right now. You are a blessing, a revelation. You’ve got what it takes. It is so easy for us to throw it all away and give up because we have our personal safety nets. We’re lucky. Others have no other option but to carry on and finish what they started. We must be as resilient and persevere.

Giving up is such an easy task. It’s as simple as closing an unfinished book and deciding to take a short nap. But giving up is not as rewarding as reaching the end, getting to the finish line. Sure it isn’t as easy. But remember why you started in the first place. Remember what fueled you to accept this feat. Remember your purpose and your end goal. Hold on to that. Hold on and believe that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. You will not see it at first. It would take quite some time but that light will be blinding. That light will regenerate all hope that was lost in you. You will reach the end of that tunnel, victorious, stronger than ever. It won’t be easy, but it will surely be worth it. 

12 thoughts on “When You Feel Like Giving Up

  1. It’s probably inevitable to feel like giving up. It’s inevitable to feel like you could just let it all go because we get to a point where are minds are just crowded with fear, anxiety, and uncertainty. We get to a point where we could no longer keep going because we no longer know where we’re going, but it’s true. We just into situations because either because we want to or we have to. We do things because a certain voice tells us that we should, and that we could. It doesn’t matter why we do things. We do things because they matter, and it is precisely because they do that we keep going, and should never stop.

  2. This is really perfect for exams week or this semester in general. This has been the hardest sem of of my college life (I bet everyone would agree to this), but honestly yoru post just made me realize why I wanted to UP. I should really hold on to that and allow it to drive me to prove myself wrong. Thank you for this blog! It really inspired me to keep persevering despite college’s obstacles.

  3. This was very helpful. I was almost about to close my microeconomics book…but then I read this. This gave me the inspiration I needed to finish one more chapter. 🙂

  4. Thank you telle for this blog, it really is an inspiration and a reminder to never give up. From quotes of athletic apparel to suggestions from different people, you would always hear the word never give up, push or as Nike says “ Just do it”. I agree that sometime people, we lose hope and that it just needs the proper motivation and inspiration to never give up and to pursue. I think that the blog reminds us that everyone is destined for greatness and each obstacle in life is a temporary concussion placed to test one self and that all we have to do is strive, persist and push. In my opinion, in the ned we are all the writers of our own story. Thanks again for the blog!

  5. “But giving up is not as rewarding as reaching the end, getting to the finish line.”

    Couldn’t agree more. Thanks for sharing this Telle! I felt more motivated to not simply get over this finals week, but fight my way through it. 🙂

  6. Very inspiring. As people always say, “Mahirap makapasok sa UP pero mas mahirap makalabas.” But every struggle we faces will be worth it in the end. What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger!

  7. I agree that it is so easy to give up, especially when you don’t even like what you’re fighting for. But we must never falter! There’s no greater competition than yourself. When you give in to doubts, that is when you truly lose. Kaya natin ‘to, batchmates!

  8. I agree with you completely. The past week, I have been on the brink of flipping a table in academic frustration. There are days when it seems that I would like nothing more than to curl up into a ball and cease to exist. This is especially true during the hectic hell week finals.

    This reminder has put things in perspective. Thanks, I needed this.

  9. Glad I came across this blog post. I’ve been such a bum lately, finding it very difficult to focus because I feel like it’s engraved in my head to just settle. But that shouldn’t be anyone’s mind set. Never settle. Almost is never enough.

    Thank you Telle! Really needed this. Good luck with your exams! 🙂

Leave a Reply

