When Awesome is A Maybe

AWESOME – a word I often use to show how I admire something too good; a word I utter when I am overly impressed; a word I would never use to refer to my generation. For the awesomeness we know today, just don’t seem to be the awesomeness it should be.

If there’s one thing that people my age has as a common denominator, it is the short attention span we all have. We don’t appreciate things for very long and we easily get bored. If you try to visit a teenager’s social media page, it is as impossible as flying to find a post without the word “bore”. I, in the beginning, thought it was something normal. But with the help of a very close buddy of everybody – the Internet – I came to realize it wasn’t.  Has it never occurred to anyone how we already have lots of high-tech stuff?  

  • A chopping board that lets you take photos, play games, and skim through the internet. called an iPad.
  • Phones that do not need to be plugged in into a power source and does not only make a phone call but sends videos and photos too, called the cell phone.
  • A stereo that can now be put in your pocket without even having a drop of sweat, called an iPod.
  • And even a playmate that has a very non-proportional and unfit body yet plays tennis, thanks to Wii.

Name it; we have almost every gadget needed to make any chore much easier. But why is that at the end of the day, we are still left dissatisfied?

 It is indeed a wonder how boredom still gets its own drama. How a 16 year old could say there is nothing left to do when we actually have all these in our hands.

To me it seems like life is being taken for granted. As if it was a prize on a game show and no one needed to give so much blood and sweat to have it. The youth with their lives ahead of them don’t see how today is irreplaceable. They don’t understand how leisure time is more expensive than the whole Apple, Microsoft, and Barbie corporations prices put altogether.  They haven’t had a grasp of how being lazy towards work today means starving for a month tomorrow. We, my people of the same age, would rather stare at computers, cork earphones and suck ourselves up to a world full of nothing but our dense selves. We act as if it was something good but end up getting nothing but dullness towards the end.

We are missing out.

As I was skimming through online posts, a number of it caught my attention. Those posts spoke about outdoor games kids (age goes up to 16) played, good cartoons kids watched and toys that gave me no idea what they were. All of them were from the 90’s. All of them showed what being a 90’s kid was all about. Being exposed to such, I asked myself:

What am I doing with my life?

A question that led to more inquiries: Why do I want to speak of every thing that I do online? Why do I want to share everything I know even though they are not that important? Why do I share my feelings with strangers? Do I lack attention?

And the answer was a hurtful yes, most teenagers of today’s population actually do. We use our mobile phones, our personal computers, our iGadgets, and our gaming systems only to get one thing – fun. Teenagers generally want to have fun; fun being entertainment and interaction.

            But that is what we see, that is in some way what we wanted to see – a conception of fun pioneered by today’s media. What we don’t know is that what really want is more than what these things have to offer. We want to shout out to the world what and who we are because we want attention. We talk to people we don’t know or we barely know because we want affection. We play games because we want to be happy – by happy meaning shortly diverging our attentions from a dreadful reality. We are bored because we miss out on these things.

Even though you show off your intestines in front of the monitor, you won’t gain the same attention you’ll get from being with your pals and just goofing around. You might post your whole heart out with so much feeling and with tons of emoticons online to people you know or you don’t, but you will never get the same affection a touch can give. And you could spend all your years playing games on consoles or computers, but you will never, in your entire life, outweigh the joy of bonding with the people you care about.

If you ask me now, I still don’t know what to really do to live out the best of these teenage years. But I am very sure of one thing – I should stop expecting something human from robots and I should just get out there and everything might just fall into place. #YOLO

Leave a Reply

