Philosophical Questions??

A few days now, I’ve been wondering what the purpose of life is and what the purpose of dying is. Five days ago, my cousin got shot by an unknown man and as I was scrolling through my news feed, I stumbled upon this report in the Philippine Daily Inquirer about the shooting incident. (http://newsinfo.inquirer.net/498987/medtech-killed-in-quezon-city#ixzz2gc2Tjk8j). It’s sad that our loved ones have to leave us too soon. 28 is a very young age to die. It’s not even half of the life expectancy of males in the Philippines. I wonder if my cousin had lived “long” enough to reach his life goals. I wonder what things he could have done more had he not been taken away from us too soon. I realized how short life can be and how it’s full of injustice. I remembered the people like my cousin, the victims of injustice who died so young. I remembered our field trip in the Bantayog ng mga Bayani and the young heroes like Catalino Blas who fought for their rights, hoping that their voice be heard as the Martial Law was implemented. I admire their courage and strength to organize and lead a team that demanded the restoration of freedom and democracy in our country. Is this their purpose in life? What more could have they done if they did not die that young? When we live for a purpose, do we also die for that purpose? What is the purpose of death? What was the purpose in life of the people who killed them recklessly? Shouldn’t our lives be aimed towards the greater good? Why are there people, especially the ones up there, who violate other people’s rights? Right now, I am still looking for answers. My Philo 1 professor told me that philosophical questions are the hardest to answer. In fact, they have no answers. Maybe I’d find answers for myself or maybe I won’t.

2012-56258

5 thoughts on “Philosophical Questions??

  1. My condolences. It is true that injustice is ever so present in our society today. However I believe it is unnecessary and could be avoided. Death however is a harsh reality that we all have to deal with. Regarding your question on the purpose of death, I did come across a certain line which struck me during a time I was heavily reflected on the subject. It came in the form of a simple question: “If there is no death, can there be such a thing as life?” It struck me because death, which at that time I deemed unnecessary, suddenly had a clear purpose. It was what gave meaning to life.

  2. Condolences for your loss…

    Regarding your cousin and whether he was able to live life to the fullest and achieve his goals, well it’s true that 28 is indeed very young and life is only just beginning. But at the same time, I think life isn’t just about reaching the end, it’s all about the little moments in between. It’s the journey. Not to sound cheesy, but I really think life is what you make it each and every day and not just what you make out of it at the end. So we shouldn’t let the idea of death haunt us. We can enjoy each day as it comes. 🙂

  3. I’m sorry for your loss.. I’ve asked those questions a lot myself. I’ve had momentary answers but ultimately they always come back, never changing, the same exact questions I’ve thought I’ve answered. In the end we can never have a definite answer in what our purpose is and what death is. We can never really be sure. What we have however is a life and there is only one thing we can surely know every time we breathe and its that we’re alive and we have a life to live. Never let those questions waste too much of that life you are now living.

  4. Thanks. 🙂 I agree that the journey and the little moments and ow we make the most out of our short stay here on earth are what matter and maybe I’ll take these as temporary answers to my questions. But I’m still thinking that maybe, at one point in our lives, we get to discover the real purpose and the real meaning of life. But the line that Luigi said is still running in my head. “If there is no death, can there be such a thing as life?” He said that it’s what gave life its meaning. So, (if I understood I correctly) does that mean that the meaning of life depends on our death? On what grounds? Is the death of Lean Alejandro, for example, what gave meaning to his life? Maybe our death gives a little more meaning to life but I think that the meaning of life is not solely dependent on death.

  5. First of all, I’d like to offer my deepest condolences. It is true that losing a loved one is such a sad affair, and I hope that the people who had killed him get the punishment that they deserve. I may not be able to give you answers, but I would like to say that even though he died so suddenly, I think that if he was happy and content with the way he lived his life then his life was well-lived. In the end, the ultimate goal of all people is to achieve true happiness before dying. So I pray that he found it before his end, and I’ll pray for you and your family so that you may have peace. I also hope that one day, you’ll find the answers you’re looking for.

Leave a Reply

