Nostalgia Feel-Trip

Last Monday, Sept 30 marked the last day of our CWTS-Econ and also the day that our class went on a field trip to Bantayog ng Bayani. We went there by riding on jeepneys, and the ride itself was fun and exciting. We were already happy, and we weren’t even there yet. But I guess for me the best thing about field trips is the ride back and forth, because you get to have some quality time with your friends.

Anyway, as we got to the place, I got to see a big wall full of names, a statue that represents the Filipinos and Inang Bayan, and I got to see a museum dedicated to heroes (from the wars up to the Martial Law). And then, we got to sit back and relax as we watched a documentary about Martial Law. I thought it was over, but then a speaker came up on stage and imparted a few words of wisdom before we finished our field trip.

All in all, it was a nice trip. It wasn’t the best, but it certainly wasn’t the worst. I got to learn yet again the history of the Philippines during the times I wasn’t even born yet, and that’s important too. I also got to see that being a hero does not only mean that you have to sacrifice your life; you can be a hero by helping others. I can’t say that I would miss this class, because I’ll actually still be here next semester, but I sure did have some fun. And for me, anything is worth doing as long as you’re having fun doing it.

Astin Louis Padlan
2012-35579

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia Feel-Trip

  1. I agree that it wasn’t the best field trip I’ve had but it had a very memorable end to it. The speaker (if you remember his name please tell me) was one of the most open-minded speakers I have ever had the pleasure of hearing. He is correct that in a way their generation is just like ours and he instilled in us the message that we can achieve the same.

  2. The trip, indeed, was certainly a nice time to reflect on things that we don’t usually think about in normal classes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

