I’m Just a Man, Not a Hero

Field trips are one of the things that I really look forward to in school. It gives me a different kind of “high” feeling. Sometimes, literally going beyond the four walls of the classroom can be an effective breather for stuffed minds. To be honest, I didn’t get to utilize last week’s field trip. It was too hot inside the museum to go with the group. I couldn’t understand much of the information being shoved. It was a compressed 2 1/2 hour-lecture of Philippine history. My rants, my excuses. However, when we went inside the Yuchengco Auditorium and watched the video, that was when I understood most of what was being discussed. Further, my favorite part of the tour was Sir Eduardo Castrillo’s talk.

loser

LOSER. Or Glee [that which also entails the stories of losers] are what may first come up to minds.
What does it mean?
Losers are usually associated to those not accepted by the “general” society, those who fall short of the “standards”. Sometimes they may not tell you, but they’ll certainly not fail in making you feel one.

After that tour, it meant so much more to me. Do we not also recognize that this very symbol was what Former President Corazon “Cory” Aquino used in her campaign? My point here was never about being pro or anti her, but her position when she was campaigning for President.

What it really means?
It meant to me that underdogs can fight. That we can supersede the limitations imposed on us. That in the end our fight may not entirely win but we tried and proved that we have twice the heart.

cory-aquino

After this semester,
I can partially say
that my “TATAK UP” is about:

STANDING FOR ALL THE UNDERDOGS OF THE SOCIETY.
Those who are ridiculed for being different.
Those whose voices are refused to be heard and efforts left unseen.
Those who are forgotten.

“Do or die, you’ll never make me,
Because the world will never take my heart,
Though you try, you’ll never break me
We want it all, we wanna play this part.

Won’t explain or say I’m sorry,
I’m unashamed, I’m gonna show my scar,
Give a cheer for all the broken!”
[Welcome to the Black Parade, My Chemical Romance]

Ma. Isabel Jillian B. Eala
2012 – 38459

Leave a Reply

