Walking for Sluts

“She was wearing clothes that barely covered her body. She was asking for it.”

In a world where rape culture is rampant and scarily embedding itself to society, SlutWalks are conducted to give a resounding, “HELL NO!” to the statement above.

SlutWalk protest marches originated in Toronto, Canada with the purpose of going against the justification that a woman’s clothes or appearance are the reasons why she became a victim of rape.

Image

The whole movement started in the year 2011 during the time when there was a campus rape at Osgoode Hall Law School in Ontario, Canada. Constable Michael Sanguinetti gave a routine visit to that school and advised students about personal safety. During his talk he said, “I’ve been told I’m not supposed to say this – however, women should avoid dressing like sluts in order not to be victimised.” His statement  sparked the SlutWalk movement which has spread to different parts of the globe including Argentina, Australia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Sweden, and the UK (Pilkington, 2011). SlutWalks are attended not only by rape victims but also by people who support their cause.

As a woman, I feel the need to discuss the importance of this movement because I think the mentality of blaming the victim and insisting that she has somehow contributed to the events that led to her rape is not and will never be acceptable. Yes is yes and no is definitely NO. And this is the war cry in every SlutWalk.

It doesn’t matter if the woman was wearing a tight tank top and a mini bandeau skirt or if she was wearing a hoodie and pants. A woman’s clothes are not your go-signal to see whether or not she has given her consent to any sexual act. Just because the woman that was raped looked like a “slut” doesn’t mean that she “deserved it” or that she was “asking for it.”

Rape is not about the rapist, it is about the victim. Never forget that. Never forget that a woman will never wish rape to happen upon herself. Never forget that “no” or “not now” does not mean “yes.” A woman’s worth is far more than what she wears or how she presents herself. Being a “slut,” “girl,” or “woman” should not be synonymous to “rape victim.” To every person that reads this, I hope you help contribute to a safer place for women like me.

Image

 

 

— Olivia Solomon

11 thoughts on “Walking for Sluts

  1. I cannot agree with you more. No woman will ever want to be raped. Sure, I understand that a woman should know how to take care of herself, but I don’t think it is fair to go as far as to blame the rape victim and say that it’s her fault she was raped. That is just stupid.

  2. PREACH! I feel so strongly about this, because I like dressing up and I wear what I want. The problem is that people don’t understand that I wear those clothes for no one but myself. I do not care about what guys think. I wear what makes me feel confident. I refuse to pattern my wardrobe around “socially-accepted” clothes. I will not stop myself from wearing what I want to just because guys cannot control themselves.

  3. I have always felt that it’s really ignorant and foolish of people to blame on the victim whenever a bad thing happens to him/her , especially on such cases like rape so I really agree with you on this. I don’t know who said this but I have seen this quote already a couple of times and I think it relates well to this topic, “We live in a society that teaches women to be careful not to get raped instead of teaching men not to rape.”-Anonymous

  4. AMEN! It’s never about how we dress. Do they actually think that rape victims brought it upon themselves? I really hope justice is served when it comes to rape cases.

  5. precisely! and I don’t think any victim for any crime would intentionally do something to be a victim. They wouldn’t be actual victims in the first place. And I believe rapists should know better than just fulfilling their sexual needs, they should always consider to ask these question to themselves: “what if the one who was raped was my wife(husband) or my daughter(son)?”

  6. I agree that we must extend warm sympathies, and not merciless accusations, to victims of rape. However, there are other women who must be reminded not to wear provocative clothes, and to be responsible for their actions, such as wild partying, drinking alcohol, or being out in the streets during wee hours of the day. They are attracting people to do the unthinkable with their negative ways. It is better to be safe than sorry.

  7. I completely agree. A woman’s clothes should not be the determining factor as to whether or not she’d be raped. The victim would not be a ‘victim’ in the first place if she brought it upon herself by dressing a certain way, she is a victim because there really are individuals in this society who believe that rape is the best way to fulfill their sexual needs and it just so happened that she was victimized.

  8. To consider a woman’s choice of clothing as an invitation for rape is unfair for both the man and the woman. It suggests that the woman is partly responsible, and that the man is, by default, a rapist – that is, unable to control his urges. Rape is a choice.

  9. I agree with this so completely and strongly. There is only one reason for rape, only one reason to be blamed…. rapists. Fostering this horrendous idea, that women are to be blamed for becoming victims of the crime, is demoralizing and will only lead to more rape victims being unable to step forward and get the help and justice that they deserve. Kudos for writing a very relevant and thought-provoking article! .

Leave a Reply

