Cool Mind and Warm Heart

To become someone great.

That was what I wanted to be when I was a kid. The truth is, I’m afraid. I’m afraid of being forgotten. I’m afraid of becoming less than a speck of dust in the vast universe.

I want to leave a mark.

I want to be remembered even years after my death. So I do my best today and study. Study and study so that perhaps, in the future I would be able to completely take hold of my life and stir it to greatness. Because becoming great, means standing on those pedestals, where people can see you and where people can hear you. And I think, if they do, then maybe they’d listen.

And together, we can make the world a little better.

But I’m no longer the naive girl who believed that. Growing up, I saw a lot of angles of reality. And I saw those faces in the news and I saw how tall they stood on their pedestals. The truth is, the world is already teeming with great people. Great people who have the power to do what I wanted to do.

But is the world a little better?

I look at it and shake my head. And I started to think.

We have great people. In fact, we have a lot of them. But maybe they’re not exactly what we need. Maybe it isn’t entirely about greatness. Because if it is, I don’t think we’d be having all those rallies around.

I remember the infamous Ma’am Winnie Monsod and what she told us during our Econ11 class. She said, “The best leader is one who has a cool mind and a warm heart.”

And I think that’s true. We have a lot of those cool minds around. We have a lot of those great people around. And that’s fantastic! But maybe that’s not exactly what we need.

Maybe all we really need is one good man with a cool mind and a warmer heart.

Sigua, Kristel Shayne M.

5 thoughts on “Cool Mind and Warm Heart

  1. I also remember ma’m winnie saying something in reply to what JFK said about duty to the country. She said (not verbatim) “after you know what you have to do for your country, by God, do it”. That certainly spurs nationalism and, that too, i think, could be where the “great man” that will make the world a little better starts.

  2. For me, A great person is not always on the front line…
    They let their actions speaks for themselves…
    And, one must help others because helping is good and not because you’ll benefit from the action…

  3. Greatness is relative, and I agree with what you said that maybe great people aren’t what we need right now. However, we must also put into consideration that rallies exist because people are never satisfied- we are never satisfied. No matter how hard people try, we still manage to find loopholes and just keep on complaining. But indeed, with a cool mind and a warm heart (two main components of resiliency), a good kind of change might be in store for us.

    – Bea Toledo

  4. I think what separates greatness from popularity is the passion and dedication that you put into it, not only for your own benefit but most importantly for the good of others. For me, great people are those who walk the ground and let their actions define them, not other people’s perceptions. And in every step of their journey they always incorporate compassion into their greatness formula.

Leave a Reply

