It Doesn’t Matter What Everyone Else Thinks

I thought of writing about Lean Alejandro, Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago, and for a desperate reason that I couldn’t think of anyone specific, Ninoy Aquino for this essay about whom I consider a hero. I’ve been racking my brain for someone to write about because I wanted to write about someone specific and someone whom I know everyone will agree when I say that the person I chose really deserves the to be called a hero. I’ve been stressing out about the essay because I couldn’t think of anyone when it hit me right in the face when I opened the door when I came home. I kissed my mom on the cheek to greet her then remembered that my dad wasn’t home. He had been in Lucena City, Laguna for the past two days. I checked his text message, he informs everyone of his schedule so we know where he is, and it read: (1) Wed-Thu (Sept. 4-5), Lucena City, (2) Fri-Sun Tabaco City, (3) Mon (Sept. 9) Sorsogon City, meeting (4) Sept. 10/ Tue, Lucena City (5) Sept. 10/ Tue night HOME SWEE HOME NA KO. (6) Sept. 13-15 Tarlac City (7) Calapan Oriental Mindoro. My dad in an entrepreneur, he goes around taking advantage of all the opportunities for him to earn. He always sends us his schedules and it has always puzzled me why he chooses to go far places and dive into a lot of businesses when he could just take a corporate position where he would just sit behind a desk. He is, after all, a UP graduate of Agriculture. He had also taken some masteral units of business administration from Ateneo. He had offers of 6 figures from companies but he chooses not to take them. My question was answered a few weeks back when I asked him why he would rather continue with his current work than take a corporate position and he answered, “Kasi kapag kumuha ako ng office job, hindi ko na kayo mababantayan.” He did have a point. He was always working from home and left only when he had meetings. We could easily call him whenever we wanted, have him pick us up from school anytime of the day or have him come to all our school functions or events whatever time of day it was. I guess it may be cliché or a boring answer for others but he is my hero. He stands by his principle of family first even if he is already having a hard time committing to it. He wants to be able to be as close to us as he can to protect us even at the expense of his own comfort.

 

In determining a hero, how big a person’s name is to people doesn’t matter as long as that name has a big significance to you.

 

 

-Maan Marie B. Ariate

2012-59006

 

One thought on “It Doesn’t Matter What Everyone Else Thinks

  1. I was really struck by your last line “In determining a hero, how big a person’s name is to people doesn’t matter as long as that name has a big significance to you.” Everyone has their own personal heroes and how other people define a hero shouldn’t affect how we see them.

Leave a Reply

