“Huwag ninyong hayaan ang inyong pag-aaral ay maging sagabal sa inyong edukasyon”

…Was the famous mantra of Leandro Alejandro, more popularly known as Lean, an iconic student activist.

 

To be honest, I’ve never really heard of him before listening to the talks conducted by his colleagues in our NSTP class. No fishing, but I’m more than glad that we were granted this kind of opportunity. Although, reflecting and after midnight-musings made me realize how I have been continuously taking such open doors for granted. But this post will not be about me nor my perpetual ranting regarding how stressful academics, orgwork, and all the gray shades in life have become. Then again, I guess this is what this post is for (but not all about that). 

 

For such a long time now, I’ve been evading all things academics. If it’s a dead end, I’ll do requirements for the sake of finishing them. No offense, but I feel that I have a lot of units from which I don’t even really learn any thing.  Perhaps that’s why I’m more inclined to do orgwork and other stuff. For a time, I felt that Alternative Class Learning Experience (ACLE) should be held for a week (or even everyday!).  And this is how I interpret Lean’s mantra, that the technicalities and standards of academics should not delimit our learning. That we could go beyond a mechanism. That we can and we will go the distance. I’m not making up an excuse, in fact, having an identity as an “Iskolar para sa Bayan” gives you a default and emphasized outlook for taxpayers, the masses. Although, I’m not saying that that burden should be the sole basis for our working hard. But indeed, they are a factor rightfully considered. It’s a matter of priorities and attempting to be successful in both.

 

And for that, Lean, you are more than just a hero. You are an inspiration and for that we are grateful.

 

P.S. No, this is not some shameless plug; I’m not a performer under UP Rep or whatnot. I believe given the preferences of our generation plus historical relevance and importance of such matter, this is deemed a great avenue to utilize both.

http://lifestyle.inquirer.net/122859/up-repertory-company-presents-the-gary-granada-musical-lean

 

 

Ma. Isabel Jillian B. Eala~

One thought on ““Huwag ninyong hayaan ang inyong pag-aaral ay maging sagabal sa inyong edukasyon”

  1. Interesting. I never saw Lean could be an inspiration in that way. It’s sad to know that he died by the hands of unknown assailants wishing to stifle his influence.

Leave a Reply

