Deeds of Heroism

A hero is a breath of fresh air in a world filled with darkness and animosity. Heroes are brave enough to stand up for their moral principles and bring out the best not only in themselves but also in others. History books have portrayed their lives in a series of bloodshed wars and political instability. Pop culture, on the other hand, immortalized them and their supernatural abilities. However, in this day and age, heroes take various forms. A hero is no longer just associated with spandex costumes or weaponries. Acts of kindness and the will to make a change have earned average citizens the right to the title – “Hero.”

My Dad was, and will always be my hero. Even though he has joined our Creator February of this year, his memory lives on in the hearts and minds of my family and the people whose lives he had touched. Even in his absence, he never fails to provide me with strength and motivation. I would never get a clear explanation as to why he had to pass away, but I guess Heaven was in need of an angel. My Mom, together with my Dad has helped bring out the best in me and has made the past sixteen years of my existence extremely wonderful. My teachers, my friends, my co-lectors, commentators and choir members in Church, my schoolmates, my co-actors and co-models, people who believe in me and even those who tried to put me down have all contributed to the person I am now. I wouldn’t be who I am today without them. Positive and negative experiences strengthened my outlook in life.

When it comes down to it, you need not perform feats of stability or influence millions of people to be a hero. Each one of us is a hero in our own rights. The point being, our existence is relevant to certain people and we will be relied on and trusted at some point in our lives. Paying forward with little deeds and self-sacrifice brings out the Hero in each one of us.

– Christine Anne Barchini

Leave a Reply

